Artist Statement

Artist Statement

1st draft-

Studying photography for the past four years I feel my work has grown a lot with me. Stepping out of my comfort zone was a way to always push myself to grow, even branching out to mixed media and moving image. I have found so much joy in exploring different mediums within photography, teaching me a lot about the technical aspects as well as the deeper meaning hidden behind an image. Every image has it’s own story and its up to the viewer to decipher what that meaning is. Everyone has a story to tell and I want to show mine through my photography, making sure to include the places and people that surround me. You may look at my work thinking I have just shown you the story of another but my story is in there too.

Refined statement for exhibition-

Every image has it’s own story and its up to the viewer to decipher what that meaning is. Everyone has a story to tell and I wanted to show mine through my photography, making sure to include the places and people that surround me. So you may look at my work thinking I have just shown you the story of another but my story is in there too. My work explores what it means to step out of your comfort zone. It is a way to always push myself to grow. To branch out to mixed media and moving image.

Leave a Reply

